Producer: Tim Yard
Director: Jeff Smith
Assistant Director: Renee Harrington
Music Director: Kim Padley
Choreographer: Reed K. Steele

Show Dates

April 29-30 and May 6-7, 2011 at 8:00 PM
May 1, 2011 at 3:00 PM


Fassett Auditorium, 3025 Starr Avenue, Oregon, OH 43616

In this musical Six young people in the throes of puberty, overseen by grown-ups who barely managed to escape childhood themselves, learn that winning isn’t everything and that losing doesn’t necessarily make you a loser.

This hilarious tale of overachievers’ angst chronicling the experience of six adolescent outsiders vying for the spelling championship of a lifetime. The show’s Tony Award winning creative team has created the unlikeliest of hit musicals about the unlikeliest of heroes: a quirky yet charming cast of outsiders for whom a spelling bee is the one place where they can stand out and fit in at the same time.

Music and Lyrics by William Finn
Book by Rachel Sheinkin

Cast List

Rona Lisa Peretti – Elizabeth Gibson
Chip Tolentino – Patrick Boyer
Logainne Schwartzandgrubenierre – Maryann Mead
Leaf Coneybear – Colten Kuney
William Barfee – Kevin Harrington
Marcy Park – Amber Breault
Olive Ostrovsky – Tammy Halay
Vice Principal Douglas Panch – Don Dauer
Michelle “Mitch” Mahoney – Leah Smith
Carl Grubenierre – Dan Sifuentes
Dan Schwartz – Robert Mullens


Woodwinds – Dave Romer
Keyboard – Ann Klewer
Synthesizer – Tom Szor
Percussion – Ray Woods
Piano – Kim Padley

Production Team

Stage Manager – Renee Harrington
Costumes – Cast
Lighting Design – Kevin Harrington
Lights – Dawn Yard
Sound Design – Keith Klewer, Tim Yard
Sound – Tim Yard
Set Design – Jeff Smith, Tim Yard
Set Construction and Painting – Lori Bee, Don Dauer, Tammy Halay, Kevin Harrington, Renee Harrington, Dan Sifuentes, Jeff Smith, Leah Smith, Reed Steele, Dawn Yard, Tim Yard
Stage Crew – Renee Harrington, Jason Knotts, Tom Trease
Prompters – Susan Kreioch
Props – Carol Foley
Tickets – Roxie Mlynek
Make-Up – Marlene Guy
House Manager – Cheryl Cuprys
Concessions – Marcia Hayes
Program Editor – Krystle King
Publicity – Marla Wietrzykowski
First Nighter Appreciation – Dianne Davis
Photographer – Tonia Gaborik

Produced through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI)
All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI
421 West 54th Street, New York, NY 10019
Phone: 212-541-4684 Fax: 212-397-4684